I have a question regarding my traffic citation - Who do I ask?
West Traffic Division
Los Angeles Superior Court - Traffic Violation Information
I lost my traffic citation - What do I do?
If you lost your traffic citation, you need to contact the courts for information to resolve your ticket. You can obtain court information by visiting the Los Angeles Superior Court Traffic Violation Information website.
I have a question regarding my traffic citation - Who do I ask?
If you have any question regarding your traffic citation, you need to contact the Los Angeles Superior Courts. The Los Angeles Police Department is not authorized to supply information regarding the disposition or future outcome of any citation.
How can I get my car out of impound?
If a person’s vehicle is impounded under a 30-day hold, they must wait until the 30-day period is over prior to requesting a release. After the 30-day period has passed, the registered owner must go to the Area auto detectives to obtain a release for the vehicle (releases are only given to the registered owner/s). If the registered owner does not have a valid California driver’s license, he/she must bring along a person who possesses a valid California driver’s license.
However, vehicles may be released by an Area Auto Detective Unit supervisor, prior the termination of the 30-Day Hold period, under any one of the following circumstances:
- The registered owner can establish the vehicle was driven by an unlicensed driver without the registered owner's knowledge or permission;
- The vehicle was seized for 30-Day Hold and it not authorized under Section 14602.6(a) VC;
- There is sufficient proof the vehicle was stolen;
- The concerned driver acquires a valid driver license or has the driver license reinstated and obtains proper insurance and the registered owner can provide a valid driver license and proof of current vehicle registration;
- There is sufficient proof the driver of the vehicle was in fact a licensed driver with a valid license issued prior to the time of impound or the driver had an expired license; or,
- The registered owner presents a court order to release the vehicle.
The five top traffic violations which cause traffic collisions:
Following too close.
You must follow the vehicle in front of you a distance that allows you to stop, no matter how quickly that vehicle stops. The three (3) second rule will allow you to easily judge this distance. The three second rule indicates that if you see the vehicle in front of you pass a object (i.e. cross walk line, light pole, etc) you should not pass that same object in less than three seconds.
Failing to stop for red signal lights.
California law recently doubled the fine for red light violations.
23152 (a) VC
Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.
In excess of the posted speed limit, or driving at any speed that is unsafe, based on the conditions present (rain, fog and other conditions may dictate that even the posted speed is not safe.)
21801 (a) VC
A driver may not negotiate a left turn when another vehicle is approaching head on, that is so close as to be a hazard.
- If anybody is hurt, or any driver is intoxicated call 911.
- If there are not injuries, but a hit and run occurred, or any driver is unlicensed, call 1-877-ASK-LAPD to report the accident.
- If there are not any injuries and all parties have a driver license exchange information. This involves exchanging driver license information, registration, insurance information, and driver’s telephone number. No report will be completed by the LAPD for this type of collision.
- If you have struck a stationary object or parked vehicle provide your information with the owner of the property/vehicle. You can leave your information on a piece of paper on the windshield of the vehicle struck or in the mail box for the property you damaged. No report will be completed by the LAPD for this type of collision.
- If a traffic collision report had been taken and you would like to obtain a copy of the report call 213-486-8130.
How can I obtain a copy of a traffic report?
To obtain a copy of a traffic report, you must mail your request to Records & Identification Division. Traffic reports can be released to authorized persons such as the victim, the victim’s representative, or as provided in Section 20012 of the Vehicle Code.
A check or money order payable to the LAPD in the amount of $24.00. This fee may be refunded if it is determined that no report exists. You will be provided with a City of Los Angeles Claim for Refund form to be returned to the City Clerk's Office.
- The location and the party(ies) involved in the collision, if known
- The insurance policy number if the requestor is an insurance company
- A release from an involved party if the request is from an attorney
- The type of report - traffic
- The date and location of occurrence
- A report (DR) number, if known
- The vehicle license number, when applicable
- Los Angeles Police Department
- Records and Identification Division
- Document Processing Unit
- P.O. Box 30158
- Los Angeles, CA 90030
How can I contest a parking violation?
A person can contest a parking violation by calling the Parking Violation Bureau, Department of Transportation, at 213-623-6533. A recorded phone message provides concise instructions on how to contest the parking citation. All of the recorded instructions must be followed exactly, and within the allotted time period, otherwise, the application for a hearing will be forfeited. There is additional information online at http://www.lacity-parking.org/laopm/1_800.htm.
I lost my parking violation - What do I do?
Attached to your parking violation is an envelope to mail your parking violation. If you have lost your parking violation, you need to contact the Parking Violation Bureau, Department of Transportation. See below for a picture of the top left portion of the parking violation envelope for information.
There is additional information online at http://www.lacity-parking.org/laopm/1_800.htm.
How do I request an impound hearing?
If your vehicle has been impounded, and you feel the fees are incorrect, or their is not sufficient cause for your vehicle to be impounded you may request an impound hearing.
Impound hearings are conducted in the geographical area where the vehicle was impounded from. In order to schedule an impound hearing you must contact the geographical area auto detectives and schedule an appointment. Auto detectives are in the office during regular business hours 7:00 am - 4:00 pm hours Monday through Friday.
Rampart Area - 213-484-3450
Hollenbeck Area - 323-342-8900
Northeast Area - 323-344-5731
Newton Area - 323-846-5363
Harbor Area - 310-726-7900
77th St. Area - 213-485-4175
Southeast Area - 213-972-7813
West Valley Area - 818-374-7730
North Hollywood Area - 818-623-4045
Foothill Area - 818-834-3115
Devonshire Area - 818-832-0609
Topanga Area - 818-756-4820
Wilshire Area - 213-922-8205
West Los Angeles Area - 310-444-1502
Pacific Area - 310-482-6313
Olympic Area - 310-482-6313
Vehicle Impound Hearing Rights
As a vehicle owner or other person entitled to possession of an impounded vehicle, you have the right to a hearing if you believe your vehicle should not have been impounded. You may request this hearing either before or after you pay the impound and storage charges to the Official Police Garage which has custody of your vehicle. The purpose of the hearing is to determine whether there was PROBABLE CAUSE to impound the vehicle, that is, was the impounding officer authorized to legally remove your vehicle.
The hearing will consist of a meeting with the Impound Hearing Officer of the station which impounded your vehicle. You may present any witnesses or other evidence you believe will show that your vehicle should not have been impounded. You must establish that you are the owner of the vehicle or that you have some other right to possession of it.
If the hearing officer determines that there was NO probable cause and your vehicle should not have been impounded, it will be released to you without charge, or you will be repaid after processing by mail for the charges you paid to the Official Police Garage. If the hearing officer determines that the vehicle was properly impounded, you must pay the impound and storage charges or the Official Police Garage acquires a lien against your vehicle.
This hearing does not affect any related traffic citation or other criminal proceedings. If you wish to challenge the charges underlying any such citation or criminal proceeding, you must do so in the appropriate court.
To request a hearing, you must telephone, write or appear in person at the police station which impounded your vehicle within (10) days of the date appearing on the written notice. Failure to do so will end your right to a hearing. Refer to the DR Number when requesting a hearing.
If a person’s vehicle is impounded as a vehicle forfeiture, and the vehicle is owned by more than one person, the other owner (owner from whom the vehicle was not taken) should refer to the information contained in the Notice of Forfeiture Letter that they will receive by certified mail, to obtain a release.
How do I comment on the level service received by an Official Police Garage?
Questions or complaints concerning an OPG location may be directed to Commission Investigation Division at 100 West First Street 1st Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90012 between hours the 7:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday – Friday. It is requested that a comprehensive account of the problem include dates, times and copies of all pertinent paperwork be made available to the investigating officer. If you would like to contact via telephone call 323-680-4869 during business hours.
How can I report an abandoned vehicle?
A person may call his or her local police station or the Parking Violations Bureau, Department of Transportation, at 1-800-ABANDON, to report an abandoned vehicle. An officer from the Parking Violations Bureau will be dispatched and will issue a parking citation. The officer will return after a 72-hour period. If the vehicle has not been moved, the officer will impound the vehicle. There is additional information online at http://www.lacity-parking.org/laopm/1_800.htm.
What can be done about illegally parked vehicles, such as those blocking a driveway?
Contact the Parking Violations Bureau, Department of Transportation, at 213-485-4184 or 818-756-9418, and an officer will be dispatched. If the person who reported the illegally parked vehicle lives at the location, goes out to meet the officer, and explains to them that he or she lives at the location and cannot leave the driveway due to its being blocked, the officer can impound the vehicle. There is additional information online at http://www.lacity-parking.org/laopm/1_800.htm.
Where can I get information about Pedestrian Safety?
Where can I get information about Bicycle Safety?
How do I pay a bill I received from the Office of Finance for a DUI traffic accident?
If you have been arrested for a DUI where a traffic collision was involved and have received a bill from the Office of Finance for the cost of the investigation you have a few options.
You can contact the office via telephone (213)-473-5901 or in person at one of their five locations.
The city accepts cash, checks, cashiers checks and money orders to settle these bills. If your bill is not paid in a timely manner the Office of Finance does report to collection agency and this will adversely effect your credit.