Downtown Los Angeles header image
Los Angeles Police Department Memorial BadgeLos Angeles Police Department Badge


News Release

Friday, August 23, 2002

Media Relations

Chief Selection Criteria To Be Presented To Los Angeles Police Commission By Blue Ribbon Committee

"Chief Selection Criteria To Be Presented To Los Angeles Police Commission By Blue Ribbon Committee"


Tuesday, August 27, 2002 9:30 am

Los Angeles Police Commission Meeting, 150 North Los Angeles Street, Room 146, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Los Angeles Police Commission President Rick J. Caruso, Vice President David S. Cunningham, III, Herbert Boeckmann, II, Rose Ochi, Silvia Saucedo

Blue Ribbon Committee (all members may not be present) In alphabetical order:

William Allen, Albert DeBlanc, Miguel Contreras, Rabbi Abraham Cooper, Jeff Donfeld, Patricia Glaser, Antonio Gonzalez, Howard Halm, Lorri Jean, Ann Reiss Lane, Ann I. Park, Page Miller, Connie Rice, Luis Rodriguez, Bishop Kenneth Ulmer

The Blue Ribbon Committee was selected by the members of the Los Angeles Police Commission to assist in the development of criteria for selection of the next Chief of Police. The Committee members have met with topic experts, reviewed the material from seven public meetings held by the Police Commission, analyzed the results from a public survey administered by the City of Los Angeles Personnel Department, and crafted a succinct document which will assist the Los Angeles Police Commissioners.


With the criteria prepared by the Blue Ribbon Committee now in hand, the Los Angeles Police Commissioners will review the list of candidates for interview consideration. After the interviews are complete, the Police Commission shall forward a list of three finalists, in order of preference, to the Mayor for final selection.

Please note that as this is a personnel matter, the list of candidates will not be released, nor will interview information be released.

Blue Ribbon Committee

  • William Allen
    – former founding President and CEO of the Economic Alliance of the San Fernando Valley in 2000, who is also the President of Meadowlane Enterprises and Meadowlane Music

  • Albert DeBlanc
    – a former Los Angeles Police sergeant and member of the Los Angeles County Human Relations Commission who is now an attorney and is active in community and civic affairs

  • Miguel Contreras
    – Executive Secretary-Treasurer for the Los Angeles County Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

  • Rabbi Abraham Cooper
    – Associate Dean at the Simon Wiesenthal Center

  • Jeff Donfeld
    – a partner in the firm Donfeld, Kelley and Rollman and a former staff assistant to President Richard Nixon

  • Patricia Glaser
    – a partner in the law firm of Christensen, Miller, Fink, Glaser, Weil and Shapiro and an active member of the community

  • Antonio Gonzalez
    – President of the Southwest Voter Registration Education Project

  • Howard Halm
    – a partner in a law firm and former President of the National Asian Pacific American Bar Association

  • Lorri L. Jean
    – Executive Director of the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force

  • Ann Reiss Lane
    – former Los Angeles Police Commissioner, now Chair for Women Against Gun Violence

  • Ann I. Park
    – attorney with the firm Burke, Williams & Sorensen and former President of the Korean American Bar Association

  • Page Miller
    – advocate for the Senior Lead Officer program and active community member

  • Connie Rice
    – Co-Director of the Advancement Project, a public policy and legal action group

  • Luis Rodriguez
    – a Deputy Public Defender and former President of the Mexican American Bar Association

  • Bishop Kenneth Ulmer
    – Senior Pastor/Teacher at the Faithful Central Bible Church

If you have any questions, please contact Tamryn Catania at 213- 485-3531.