Downtown Los Angeles header image
Los Angeles Police Department Badge


Operation Archangel

Operation Archangel was developed by the Los Angeles Police Department to identify and protect critical infrastructure and key resources in the Los Angeles metropolitan area. Its purpose is to defend likely targets against catastrophic terrorist attacks. Archangel is based upon the guiding principle that local member agencies are most knowledgeable about their own critical assets.

Archangel was born out of a need to engender inter-agency/departmental cooperation and coordination to facilitate the strategic application and management of information and resources for the prevention, deterrence, mitigation and response to critical incidents, including terrorism. Archangel's primary focus is on prevention. Archangel has been designed to identify locations of criticality and plan multi-agency/disciplinary prevention, deterrence, mitigation and response efforts.

Archangel is aligned with and contributes directly to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Strategy for Homeland Security, the National Infrastructure Protection Plan (NIPP) and the Critical Infrastructure Protection (CIP) Plan. Archangel is a partnership among the City and County of Los Angeles, the California State Office of Homeland Security and the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Archangel is a scalable model, exportable across the nation. Archangel is responsible for spearheading several distinct, yet integrated initiatives. They include, but are not limited to:

•Identification and Prioritization of Critical Assets: Archangel has established a criterion, or definition, for the identification of “critical” assets. The Archangel Critical Asset Definition is the product of an in-depth, nationwide study of working models and publications, together with the input of a working group comprised of subject matter experts and stakeholders from throughout the country. This definition was used during a comprehensive inventory of the City of Los Angeles and the California State Office of Homeland Security for statewide use. The definition will also be used to guide resource allocation decisions.

•Critical Asset Assessments (CAAs): Archangel has created a three-tiered template for Critical Asset Assessments from a multi-agency perspective that includes:

Conducting appropriate Vulnerability Assessments to determine and reduce a location's degree of vulnerability; and
Harvesting detailed location specific information (i.e. names, phone numbers, floor plans, site postings, etc.) All for use by pre-incident planners and on-scene Incident Commanders through web-based delivery during critical incidents, and
Drafting site-specific, pre-incident security enhancement plans and post-occurrence action plans designed to provide tactical guidance and insight to planners and/or to Incident Commanders in the field.

•Critical Asset Assessment Teams (CAAT): The primary mission of the Critical Asset Assessment Team (CAAT) is to perform Critical Asset Assessments (CAAs) on pre-inventoried critical infrastructure and key assets throughout the city of Los Angeles. Secondary missions of CAAT include providing “out-briefs,” when requested, to asset managers informing them of vulnerabilities in their facilities and supporting the Los Angeles Police Department with special assignments. CAAT members also serve as liaisons to the various critical assets throughout the city. As liaisons, CAAT members' duties include establishing and maintaining a symbiotic relationship between the public and private sectors.

•Automated Critical Asset Management System (ACAMS): Archangel has partnered with U.S. DHS to develop ACAMS, a secure interoperable web-based system to manage critical asset information.

ACAMS coordinated the following:

Critical Asset Inventory and Prioritization Modeling
Asset Manager Questionnaires (promotes Public/Private partnerships)
Critical Asset Assessments (CAAs)
Site Specific Pre-Incident Security Enhancement Plans
Buffer Zone Protection Plans
Building Inventories
Site Specific Post-Occurrence/Response Plans

•Protective Security Task Force (PSTF): The PSTF is a plain clothes, low-profile team of personnel specifically trained and equipped with state-of-the-art technology to provide a comprehensive cloak of security to a threatened asset. Primarily, the PSTF will be deployed when intelligence indicates that a threat may be directed at a critical asset and/or event. In the absence of intelligence, the PSTF will deploy to critical assets throughout the area of responsibility providing low-key but visible enhancements to the resident security measures.

•Security Officer Terrorism Awareness Course (SOTAC): The Security Officers Terrorism Awareness Course, or SOTAC, is a four hour block of instruction designed specifically for the security industry professional to enhance awareness of current terrorist trends and methodologies for attack.

SOTAC focuses heavily on prevention; developing a winning mind set and giving the security professional actionable items for hardening the target, techniques of handing possible explosive device incidents, and the recognition of pre-incident in indicators to a terrorist attack.

•Award Recognition: Archangel has received national and local recognition;

FCW/Monticello Award for 2005
Emergency Preparedness Commission for the County and Cities of Los Angeles, 12/14/05