Forensic Science and Technical Division

Commanding Officer Tatiana A. Garcia

The Criminalistics Laboratory is comprised of eight specialized units that provide support services to investigative personnel in the Department—the Questioned Documents Unit, the Field Investigation Unit, the Firearm Analysis Unit, the Narcotics Analysis Unit, the Serology/DNA Unit, the Toxicology Unit, the Trace Analysis Unit and the Quality Assurance Unit.  Criminalistics Laboratory personnel operate out of the Hertzberg-Davis Forensic Science Center, a facility shared with the Los Angeles Sheriff’s Department at California State University, Los Angeles.  The Technical Laboratory is comprised of five specialized units that provide support services to investigate personnel in the Department:

Polygraph Unit

Latent Print Unit

Photography Unit

Electronics Unit

Quality Assurance Unit

Police Administrator -VACANT is the Commanding Officer of FSD