Eighteen Los Angeles Police Officer to Receive Medal of Valor

September 13, 1999

Monday, September 13, 1999
Eighteen Los Angeles Police Officer to Receive Medal of Valor

On Wednesday, September 15, 1999 at 11:00 a.m., The Los Angeles Police Department in conjunction with the Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce will sponsor the 1999 Medal of Valor Award Ceremony held at the The Regal Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles.

Since 1925, the Medal of Valor Award had been presented to men and women of the Los Angeles Police Department who have distinguished themselves by acts of heroism and bravery above and beyond the normal demands of police service. The Medal of Valor is the highest award the Department bestows upon its officers.

Actor Tony Danza is scheduled to narrate the heroic incidents while Chief Parks decorates the 1999 recipients with the Medal of Valor.

Tickets may be obtained by calling Jennifer Bayer at the Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce at (213) 580-7585.

1999 Medal of Valor recipients:

Officer Jack Parker
Officer Chris Dunn
Officer Joseph Kalyn
Officer Chris Yzaguirre
Officer Craig Hewitt
Officer John Constable
Officer Kevin Foster
Officer Jude Bella
Officer Andrew Azodi
Officer James Veenstra
Officer Bruce Hunt
Officer Louis Villalobos
Officer Ossie Crenshaw
Officer David Rodriguez
Officer James Edwards
Officer Rex Yap
Reserve Officer Debra Fairchild
Former Officer Ryan Clark

Photos and biographies of the 18 Medal of Valor recipients are available through Officer Sara Faden of the LAPD Public Affairs Unit, 213-485-3281.

A news conference/photo opportunity is scheduled for 11:00 a.m. prior to the ceremony.

For Release 10:30 am PST
September 13, 1999