Elections Held for President and Vice President of Los Angeles Police Commission

July 30, 2002

Los Angeles: Today, during the Los Angeles Board of Police Commissioners weekly meeting, Rick J. Caruso was re-elected as President and David S. Cunningham, III, was elected as Vice President. Both were unanimous decisions made by the five-member Commission.
Commissioner Bert Boeckmann, a veteran on the Los Angeles Police Commission stated, "President Caruso’s leadership has been exemplary in all areas and I am confident that we will continue to make progress with his vision."
Commissioner Rose Ochi was thanked for her extraordinary work as Vice President during the last year. She has been extremely active in chairing several Commission task forces and is responsible for guiding the reform of the Los Angeles Police Department’s disciplinary system.
President Caruso stated, "I am honored to be re-elected President as I enjoy working with all of the Commissioners as we continue our job of making the Los Angeles Police Department the best law enforcement agency possible."
Vice President Cunningham echoed, "I am looking forward to this challenge of further serving the people of Los Angeles. While it is an additional responsibility, it is extremely rewarding."
"My goal is to make Los Angeles the safest big city in America and I know that as Police commission President and Vice President, Rick Caruso and David Cunningham will provide invaluable leadership that will improve public safety in Los Angeles," said Mayor James Hahn. "I also want to thank outgoing Vice President Rose Ochi for the countless hours she spent working on important issues such as discipline reform and the flexible work schedule as well as the immeasurable expertise she provided to the Board last year. I look forward to continuing to work with Rick, David, Rose, and the rest of the Board in the coming year."
The members of the Los Angeles Police Commission are as follows:

President Rick J. Caruso, Chief Executive Officer of Caruso Affiliated Holdings
Vice President David S. Cunningham, III, an attorney specializing in redevelopment and land use
Commissioner Herbert Boeckmann, II, Owner and Chief Executive Officer of Galpin Motors, Inc.
Commissioner Rose Ochi, an attorney who served as the Director of the U.S. Department of Justice’s Community Relations Service
Commissioner Silvia Saucedo, an attorney with Nossaman, Guthner, Knox & Elliott