LAPD Officers To Be Awarded Law Enforcement’s Highest Honor – The Medal of Valor

August 31, 2001

Los Angeles: On Wednesday, September 5, 2001, at 11:00 a.m., the Los Angeles Police Department in conjunction with the Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce will sponsor the 2001 Medal of Valor Award Ceremony, which will be held at the Westin Bonaventure, California Ballroom, downtown Los Angeles.

Since 1925, the Medal of Valor has been presented to men and women of the Los Angeles Police Department who have distinguished themselves by acts of heroism and bravery above and beyond the normal demands of police service. The Medal of Valor is the highest Award the Department bestows upon its officers. To date, the Department has honored 496 officers with this distinguished award.

Four-time Emmy Award winner Actor Dennis Franz will narrate the heroic incidents while Chief Bernard C. Parks decorates the 2001 recipients with the Medal of Valor.

Tickets to the awards luncheon ceremony may be obtained by contacting Diane Holland at the Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce, 213-580-7524.

2001 Medal of Valor Recipients
Officer Mark Mireles
Officer David Orozco

A news conference/photo opportunity is scheduled for 11:00 a.m. prior to the ceremony.

Photos and biographies of the two Medal of Valor recipients will be available at the press conference, any further questions please contact Officer Joe Buscaino, Public Affairs Unit, 213-485-3281.