LAPD to Conduct DUI Checkpoints and DUI Saturation Patrols

June 11, 2021

Thursday, June 10
DUI Checkpoint from 6 PM to 11 PM at Florence Avenue and La Salle Avenue in Los Angeles

Friday, June 11
DUI Saturation Patrol from 5 PM to 1 AM in Northeast Area
DUI Checkpoint from 7 PM to 12 AM at Roscoe Boulevard and Gloria Avenue in North Hills

Saturday, June 12
DUI Checkpoint from 6 PM to 11 PM at Osborne Street and Laurel Canyon Boulevard in Pacoima

Sunday, June 13
DUI Saturation Patrol from 2 PM to 10 PM in Northeast Area
DUI Saturation Patrol from 5 PM to 1 AM in North Hollywood Area

Locations of the checkpoints are subject to change or cancellation.

Checkpoint locations are chosen based on a history of DUI crashes and arrests. The primary purpose of checkpoints is not to make arrests, but to promote public safety by deterring drivers from driving impaired. During the checkpoint, officers will look for signs that drivers are under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.

As the state continues to work to stop the spread of COVID-19, the Los Angeles Police Department (LAPD) is committed to keeping the public safe.

"The safety of our community is and always will be our mission," Commander Woodyard, Commanding Officer, Traffic Group, said. "We are still out there looking for impaired drivers because driving under the influence is still dangerous."

The LAPD reminds the public that impaired driving is not just from alcohol. Some prescription medications or over-the-counter drugs may interfere with driving. Always follow directions for use and read warning labels about driving or" operating heavy machinery," which includes driving a car. While medicinal and recreational marijuana are legal, driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal.

If you plan on drinking or taking medications that may impact your ability to drive safely, plan on staying at home. Drivers charged with DUI face an average of $13,500 in fines and penalties, as well as a suspended license.

Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.