Los Angeles Police Foundation Awards Scholarships to Twenty-Eight Outstanding LACC District Students

May 30, 2007

Chief William J. Bratton will present twenty-eight $1000 scholarships to
high achieving Los Angeles Community College District students.

The scholarships are given annually to students in their second year of
college, with a 3.0 grade point average. Recipients must have completed
at least 12 units toward an Administration of Justice program leading to a
career in law enforcement.

Friday, June 1, 2007
2:30 p.m.

Los Angeles Community College District (Board Room)
770 Wilshire Boulevard, Los Angeles,

Chief William J. Bratton
Chancellor Darroch "Rocky" Young, Los Angeles Community College District
Gary Winnick, Gary & Karen Winnick Family Foundation
Karen Wagener, Los Angeles Police Foundation President

The $1,000 scholarships are made possible by the generous support of the Los Angeles Police Foundation/Lori Gonzales Scholarship Fund and the Gary & Karen Winnick Family Foundation. All seven of the nine colleges in the Los Angeles Community College District that offer Administration of Justice Programs will be giving awards.

2007 Scholarship Recipients

Brenda Alcantara – Pierce College
Diana Asher – Los Angeles City College
Shireen Begum – Valley College
Annjanette Burks – Mission College
Deanna Dobay – Harbor College
Juliet C. Doris – West Los Angeles College
Marlene Esguivias – East Los Angeles College
Garrett Fisk – Los Angeles City College
Cynthia Fuentes – Harbor College
Elise Gonzalez – East Los Angeles College
Cynthia M. Gonzalez – Harbor College
Joanna Hovsepyan – Valley College
Tea Kim – Los Angeles City College
Philip Kontis – West Los Angeles College
Jesus Licea – East Los Angeles College
Andre Longino – East Los Angeles College
Roberto Marquez – East Los Angeles College
Vahe Martirosyan – Los Angeles City College
William M. Mendez – West Los Angeles College
Bryan Morales – Valley College
Cory Nakamura – Pierce College
Gustavo Nunez – East Los Angeles College
Joseph Olague – Los Angeles City College
Brenda Reyes – East Los Angeles College
Gildardo Santos – East Los Angeles College
Darlene Simon – Mission College
Rebecca Talmadge – Los Angeles City College
Nicholas Young – Harbor College