Ten Los Angeles Police Officers to Receive Medal of Valor

September 1, 2000

Friday, September 1, 2000

"Ten Los Angeles Police Officers to Receive Medal of Valor"

Los Angeles – On Wednesday, September 6, 2000, at 11:00 a.m., the Los Angeles Police Department in conjunction with the Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce will sponsor the 2000 Medal of Valor Award Ceremony held at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel, California Ballroom, Downtown Los Angeles.

Since 1925, the Medal of Valor has been presented to men and women of the Los Angeles Police Department who have distinguished themselves by acts of heroism and bravery above and beyond the normal demands of police service. The Medal of Valor is the highest

Award the Department bestows upon its officers.

Craig T. Nelson is scheduled to narrate the heroic incidents while Chief Bernard C. Parks decorates the recipients with the Medal of Valor.

Tickets may be obtained by calling Jennifer Bayer at the Los Angeles Area Chamber of Commerce at (213) 580-7585.

2000 Medal of Valor Recipients

Officer Robert Farias, Officer Romik Keshishi, Officer Ronald Chavarrias Officer Cynthia French, Officer Manuel Solis, Officer Peter McCoy,
Officer Lazaro Ramirez, Officer Jason Thompson, Sergeant Joan Leuck, Officer Francisco Dominguez

A news conference/photo opportunity is scheduled for 11:00 a.m. prior to the ceremony. Photos and biographies of the 10 Medal of Valor recipients will be available at the press conference. Any further questions should be directed to Police Service Representative Stephanie Nelson, Public Affairs Unit at 213-485-3281.

For Release 3:00 pm PDT
September 1, 2000