What Goes Up – Must Come Down Annual Gunfire Reduction Campaign Press Conference

December 27, 2001

"What Goes Up—Must Come Down!
Annual Gunfire Reduction Campaign Press Conference"
Year 2001 Gunfire Reduction Campaign Press Conference
Los Angles Police Department Deputy Chief David Gascon,
Los Angeles County Sheriff Lee Baca,
Los Angeles County District Attorney Steve Cooley,
City Attorney Rocky Delgadillo, and
Los Angeles Unified School District Director of Integrated Health & Human Services Arturo Valdez.
Los Angeles Police Academy Gymnasium
1880 North Academy Drive, Los Angeles, California
Friday, December 28, 2001
10:00 a.m.

Los Angeles: Each year, as part of the New Year celebration, many individuals ritually discharge their firearms into the air, not realizing the potential consequences of their actions. In an effort to educate and warn the public of the problem, the Los Angeles Police Department, the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department, the Los Angeles Unified School District and other school districts from throughout Los Angeles County have embarked upon an awareness campaign. This campaign is designed to help reduce incidents of indiscriminate gunfire that have become a deadly tradition in our City. Research indicates that a bullet fired into the sky can climb and remain in flight for 30 seconds or longer. As the bullet falls, it can hit a ground level velocity of approximately 140 miles per hour; a velocity which can penetrate the human skull. The Gunfire Reduction Campaign aims to advise the community that celebrating the New Year with gunfire will not be tolerated in the City of Los Angeles.
California Penal Code Section 246.3 prohibits negligent discharging of firearms. Any person who violates Section 246.3, will have their firearms confiscated and will be arrested for the felony crime. Shooters can and will be prosecuted for every negligent discharge of a firearm that results in a homicide.
The media is invited to join Los Angeles County District Attorney Steve Cooley, Los Angeles City Attorney Rocky Delgadillo, Los Angeles Police Department Deputy Chief David Gascon, and Los Angeles County Sheriff Lee Baca, along with their guests in getting the word out that those bringing in the New Year with celebratory gunfire will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. Among the guests will be student winners in the countywide Gunfire Reduction Campaign poster contest. Join these students and their teachers, principals and families in receiving poster contest prizes.
Although Public Service Announcements have already been distributed to the media, press packets and additional videotapes will be given to the media at the Press Conference.
Refreshments and baked goods will be served.
For additional information regarding the 2001-2002 Gunfire Reduction Campaign or the Press Conference, please contact Officer Guillermo Campos, Media Relations Section at 213-485-3586.
The press release was prepared by Public Information Officer Guillermo Campos, Media Relations Section, 213-485-3586.

List of Dignitaries
County Supervisor Michael Antonovich
Los Angeles County District Attorney Steve Cooley
Los Angeles City Attorney Rocky Delgadillo
Los Angeles City Councilmember Ed Reyes
Los Angeles City Councilmember Dennis Zine
Los Angeles City Councilmember Jack Weiss
Los Angeles City Councilmember Ruth Galanter
Los Angeles City Councilmember Alex Padilla
Los Angeles City Councilmember Mark Ridley-Thomas
Los Angeles City Councilmember Jan Perry
Los Angeles City Councilmember Nate Holden
Los Angeles City Councilmember Cindy Miscikowski
Los Angeles City Councilmember Hal Berson
Los Angeles City Councilmember Eric Garcetti
Los Angeles City Councilmember Nick Pacheco
Los Angeles City Councilmember Janice Hahn
Los Angeles City Councilmember Tom LaBonge
Lawrence E. Lewis, Alhambra Police Department
David H. Hinig, Arcadia Police Department
King F. Davis, Jr. Azusa Police Department
Mark P. Kling, Baldwin Park Police Department
Michael J. Trevis, Bell Police Department
Manuel Ortega, Bell Gardens Police Department
Marvin D. Iannonne, Beverly Hills Police Department
Thomas Hoefel, Burbank Police Department
Roy A. Brown, Claremont Police Department
Kim Raney, Covina Police Department
Ted E. Cooke, Culver City Police Department
John Finch, Downey Police Department
James W. Ankeny, El Monte Police Department
John Wayt, El Segundo Police Department
Mike Skogh, Gardena Police Department
Russel K. Siverling, Glendale Police Department
Stephen R. Port, Hawthorne Police Department
Michael Lavin, Hermosa Beach Police Department
Randy E. Narramote, Huntington Park Police Department
Ronald Banks, Inglewood Police Department
Joseph V. De Ladurantey, Irwindale Police Department
Ronald R. Ingels, Laverne Police Department
Jerome E. Lance, Long Beach Police Department
Ernest M. Kieveshal, Jr., Manhattan Beach Police Department
Rick Lopez, Maywood Police Department
Joseph A. Santoro, Monrovia Police Department
Garry A. Couso-Vasquez, Montebello Police Department
Daniel G. Cross, Monterey Park Police Department
Timm Browne, Palos Verdes Police Department
Bernard K. Melian, Pasadena Police Department
Fred Sanchez, Pomona Police Department.
Mel E. Nichols, Redondo Beach Police Department
Robert Ordelheide, San Fernando Police Department
David A. Lawton, San Gabriel Police Department
James Butts, Jr., Santa Monica Police Department
Wayne Bailey, Sierra Madre Police Department
Don W. Pedersen, Signal Hill Police Department
Douglas F Christ, South Gate Police Department
James Anthony, South Pasadena Police Department
James D. Herren, Torrance Police Department
Bruce W. Olson, Vernon Police Department
Frank J. Wills, West Covina Police Department
David M. Singer, Whittier Police Department
Bayan Lewis, Los Angeles County Safety Police